Seven Things to Know About The Raie’Chaelia Series

Rate this post

The Return (book three) in The Legend of the Raie’Chaelia

Yesterday, Paperback Writer featured author Melissa Douhit with The Return, the third book in the Legend of the Raie’Chaelia Series. Today, she joins us to talk about Seven Things about the Raie’Chaelia series or book.

1)   One aspect of the books that many don’t know when starting the trilogy is that it is not an epic fantasy.  It is a futuristic fantasy.  It is set in this world, eons into the future after an ice age hits the Earth and forces mankind to live underground.  The setting for this story is after the world has regained its normal global temperature, hospitable to life, and the underground survivors have settled once again onto its surface.

2)   The idea for the background setting came from my studies of the Little Ice Age, where the Earth’s global temperature dropped an average of four degrees from roughly 1300 to 1850, causing volatile weather conditions and forcing people to change their customs and economies.  The Little Ice Age caused several revolutions, the rapid spread of disease (the plague), and a global migration west to the Americas.

3)   The creatures in the story, like the Chinuka and the Naezzi, are creatures who are descendants of those in the Ancient World, that is, our world as it is today.  The Naezzi are not dragons.  They were once water creatures that swam in the cold northern lochs, but over time evolved into fire creatures who enjoy extreme heat and extreme cold.  Hence their name Naezzi which is a variant spelling of Nessie.  The Chinuka are not ewoks.  They are descendants of a strain of Koala bear, except they have small noses and are more brown than grey.  They have also developed extreme intelligence from the element velarium, after its integration into the land, air and water, thus having a major impact on the Earth’s ecological systems.

4)   The reason Earth is renamed Naeo’Gaea in the story is because this is a variant spelling of Neo’Gaea, Greek for New Earth.

5)   The Chinuka have their own unique alphabet, or abjad, that is based on Arabic.  The language is written from right to left and is made of a table of phonetic letter forms that correspond to certain sounds like stat and raj, for example.  This is how the Chinukan words are created, by putting together certain letter forms, you can create a Chinukan word.

6)   The story may have a ‘Tolkienesque’ feel to it, but it is very much a modern world.  The language of old, Angaulic, spoken by Terravail, is mixture of all living languages of this world that formed when humans were forced to live in confined quarters underground.  Its structure is of the Italic languages, but it incorporates words in English, Chinese, Arabic, Russian, Romanian, Greek, and Portuguese, and others.

7)   And last but not least, the Ji, or the Source, and Ben’s description of it to Chalice came from the research I’ve done on NDE’s.  If you read enough books on this subject, they all tend to say the same thing.  One particular book comes to mind: Beyond Death’s Door.  Written by a cardiologist, the book documents real life cases where the people who came back to life from being dead described seeing another world and a being who guided them to it.  The being never identified his or herself, but always took the form of what the dying person knew or was familiar with or believed in.  Some saw Jesus.  Some saw their prophet.  Some saw an long dead relative.  Whoever or whatever they saw, it was always the dying person who did the identifying.  This is why the Ji in the story takes the form of whatever the person returning to it believes in.  For those like Braywin, who understand what the Ji is, they just see bright light.



Series: Legend of the Raie’Chaelia, Book Three – The Return
Category: YA Fantasy, Futuristic Fantasy, Fantasy
Available in: ebook, 300 Pages


After the fall from the Maaldan cliff, Chalice is reunited with her friends on a journey that takes them to the coastline of Ielieria.  Little do Vlaad and his Fierain know what is in store for them as, bit by bit, their plans are thwarted by this blond-haired, blue-eyed beauty.

 The small band of rebels then travels across the Realm, preparing it for war, while Chalice herself is brewing plans of her own that may just land her in the hot seat.  What will happen when she returns her father to the throne?  What will happen when he finds out what she has done?  And … what will happen once Dar’Maalda learns of the rebels’ location?

 In the third and final novel of the trilogy, The Legend of the Raie’Chaelia, you find out.  It is a dramatic finish to an epic story of action, adventure, betrayal, forgiveness and love.

The Return
The Return Book Three


Purchase book three – The Return at Amazon


Firelight of Maalda Book Two
Firelight of Maalda Book Two

Purchase book two – The Firelight of Maalda at Amazon

the Legend Book One
the Legend Book One


Purchase book one – The Raie’Chaelia at Amazon

About Melissa Douhit:


Melissa Douthit grew up in North County of San Diego, California. After graduating with a Computer Science degree in Southern California, and working for a summer at the National Radio Astronomy Observatory in New Mexico, she moved to the Bay Area to work at NASA Ames Research Center for a year and then at Lawrence Livermore National Lab for another four years. From there, she moved to Monterey, California, to work at the Naval Postgraduate School on a government project for two years.

 She currently lives in Salt Lake City, Utah, working as a software engineer. Since high school, she has been a voracious reader of books of all genres, with an emphasis in fantasy and science fiction. Her literary work is strongly influenced by her professional experience and includes many elements of her scientific background. You can find out more about Melissa on her website:

 Melissa on Facebook:
Melissa on Twitter:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

4 thoughts on “Seven Things to Know About The Raie’Chaelia Series”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *